Skip Navigation Link

For whom are you looking for services?


  • Student Visitor
  • Tourist Visitor
  • Business Owner Visitor


  • Parent Citizen
  • Business Owner Citizen
  • Employee Citizen


  • Parent Resident
  • Employee Resident
Now explore services 10x faster. Is this easy to understand?

Is this easy to understand?

Close Button
Communications and ITEducation and TrainingReligion and Community

MCIT Calls for Entries for "World Summit Awards 2022"

06 Jun, 2022 1:47 PMMinistry of Communications and Information TechnologyIntended Audience
Citizen: Business Owner, Employee
Resident: Employee

News Details

The Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT) has announced opening the registration for nomination at the domestic level for the "World Summit Awards 2022" (WSA) contest.

MCIT also invites all companies, institutions and individuals in the State of Qatar to join the contest and submit their best digital content applications to compete in eight award categories, and represent the State of Qatar at the international level. MCIT is also pleased to accept the local applications for the contest nomination until 30 June 2022 as deadline.

The eight award categories of WSA include government entities and citizens, health and wellbeing, environment and green energy, business and commerce, learning and education, culture and tourism, urbanization and smart communities, and empowerment and inclusion.

Those interested in joining the national contest of WSA should send information and details of their works to the MCIT via email address: They can also view further information on the award and the conditions of applying for the contest, by visiting the WSA website.

A National Pre-Selection Committee, to be formed by the local expert for the World Summit Award in the State of Qatar, Mrs. Reem Al Mansoori, Assistant Undersecretary of Digital Society Development at the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT), will assess the submissions and select one qualified project for each category to represent Qatar globally. All submissions must be no more than two years old when applying for the award.

Submissions can include any applications that provide useful digital content in an innovative and high-quality manner such as web pages, interactive applications, SMS based products, etc.

The content submitted must comply with the United Nations Declaration of Human Rights, which means that it is free from incitement to war, violence and racial discrimination and does not violate global copyrights. The competition’s committee has the right to reject any submissions that violate the United Nations Declaration of Human Rights.

Also, all submissions must be actual projects that have already been implemented. Incomplete trial versions will not be accepted and will be disqualified without prior notice, and the World Summit Award Committee bears no legal consequences for this.

It is noteworthy that the competition involves four stages: First: the pre-selection in each country, where a national specialized committee in each country selects the best eight projects for the competition categories - one for each category. The second stage: an online jury, then the grand evaluation stage, which it is carried out by a grand jury consisting of eminent experts in this field to evaluate the projects submitted by all participating countries and select the best 40 projects - five for each category. The last stage is the climax of the competition, where the World Summit Award activities are held, during which the international digital innovation is celebrated, in presence of all the contest winners, who will have the opportunity to present their projects and meet with businessmen, experts and specialists in the field of information technology.

Other News You May Like