Skip Navigation Link

For whom are you looking for services?


  • Student Visitor
  • Tourist Visitor
  • Business Owner Visitor


  • Parent Citizen
  • Business Owner Citizen
  • Employee Citizen


  • Parent Resident
  • Employee Resident
Now explore services 10x faster. Is this easy to understand?

Is this easy to understand?

Close Button
Government Enterprise Architecture Framework

Government Enterprise Architecture Framework


The Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT) works on supervising and developing the Information and Communications Technology (ICT) sector in the State of Qatar, in a manner consistent with the requirements of the national development goals, and on creating an environment suitable for fair competition, as well as supporting and stimulating the investment in this sector.

MCIT also strives to secure and raise the efficiency level of Information Technology infrastructure, implement and supervise e-government programs, and promote community awareness of the importance of ICT to improve the individual’s life and community, and to build a knowledge-based society and a digital economy.

In line with this, the Government Enterprise Architecture (GEA) Framework has been created to assist in the delivery of more consistent and cohesive services to citizens and support efficient delivery of digital services by the government, by providing a framework that:

  • Provides a Common Language: provides a common language for agencies involved in the delivery of cross agency services.
  • Enhances Collaboration: supports the identification of re-usable and sharable services and applications.
  • Assists in describing and analyzing IT investments: provides a basis for the objective review of investment by government.
  • Assists in transforming Government services: enables more efficient and timely delivery of e-Services through a repository of standards, principles and templates that assist in the design and delivery of ICT capability and, in turn, business services to citizens.

The GEA framework comprises of eight documents as described below:

# Document Description
- Overview – GEA Framework Provides high-level overview of all of below Architecture and Standards documents as well as guides agencies on how to apply them.
1 Business Reference Model Defines a Business architecture framework and associated standards providing guidance on how new business services should be  modelled, defined, developed, monitored and continuously improved throughout service lifecycle.
2 Information Reference Model Describes the Information exchange architecture approach and standards for sharing information data sets across government agencies.
3 Application Reference Model Describes the Application reference architecture and standards to be used to create applications supporting Government services.
4 Infrastructure Reference Model Describes the Infrastructure reference architecture and standards that will be the foundation for building application components and business services.
5 Security Management Provides the GEA context to the related security and privacy requirements for government agencies.
6 Service Management Defines the framework for managing IT services that are required to support the delivered services.
7 Governance Model Defines the architecture governance framework to ensure effective adoption and evolution of reference architecture models across all the agencies in Government.