For whom are you looking for services?




Municipal Council

Municipal Council

Qatar’s first Municipal Council was formed in the early 1950s. In 1999, free elections were held to form the Central Municipal Council (CMC). CMC elections are held every four years.

The council, which comprises 29 elected members representing constituencies from more than 230 regions in the State of Qatar, is an independent entity that carries out its responsibilities without interference. Members determine their work program and budget, and make recommendations to the Ministry. Regular council meetings are held in public in Doha every two weeks with a quorum of two thirds of members.

The CMC's powers and responsibilities include:
  • Monitor the implementation of laws, decrees and regulations related to urban and industrial planning, infrastructure and other public systems.
  • Oversee the economic, financial and administrative management of municipal affairs and agriculture.
The Chairman of the Council has three administrative units:
  • Office of the Chairman
  • Council Office
  • Public Relations
The Administrative Units of the Secretary General include:
  • Secretary General Office
  • Legal Affairs Unit
  • Meeting and Members Affairs
  • Studies and DevelopmentCommon Services
  • Common Services